Elephant Stone Return with 'Ship of Fools'

Elephant Stone Return with 'Ship of Fools'
Psych-styled Montreal unit Elephant Stone are set to float us yet another album. Ship of Fools sails into digital retailers September 16 through the group's own Elephants on Parade imprint, while physical copies dock November 25 via Burger Records.

The album is Elephant Stone's fourth full-length, and follows 2014's The Three Poisons. Recorded with producer Marcus Paquin (Arcade Fire, the National), the collection is said to find multi-instrumentalist band leader Rishi Dhir assuming the role of "pop songwriter" alongside drummer Miles Dupire, and guitarist Gabriel Lambert.

"Manipulator" is Ship of Fools' first single. Dhir explained in a statement that the song had been "kicking around for a few years" before arriving in its current incarnation. The song had apparently sounded "too rock," but Dhir fiddled with the rhythm until he got it right.

"The recording software I use has some drums loops," he explained in a statement, adding, "playing around with it one day, I mixed a 'motown' beat with a 'house' beat and then it all made sense. Lyrically, this song is directed at all those who seek to manipulate and control for their own selfish interest."

You can check out a Pokémon Go-inspired music video for the song below, along with the full tracklisting info for Ship of Fools and the details on a few shows coming up in Quebec.

Ship of Fools:

1. Manipulator
2. Where I'm Going
3. Cast The First Stone
4. Photograph
5. See The Light
6. Run, Sister, Run
7. Love Is Like A Spinning Wheel
8. Andromeda
9. The Devil's Shelter
10. Silence Can Say So Much
11. Au Gallis

Tour dates:

07/23 Trois-Rivères, QC - Ti-Petac
07/26 Québec, QC - L'Anti
07/27 Gatineau, QC - Minotaure
07/28 Montréal, QC - Divan Orange
07/29 Montréal, QC - Osheaga