Yeah Yeah Yeahs Announce New Album 'Cool It Down,' Share Video For Lead Single "Spitting Off the Edge of the World"

The band's long-awaited follow-up to 2013's 'Mosquito' is arriving September 30
Yeah Yeah Yeahs Announce New Album 'Cool It Down,' Share Video For Lead Single 'Spitting Off the Edge of the World'
After much teasing and plenty of whispers in the wind, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are officially back. The iconic NYC trio have announced Cool It Down, their fifth full-length album and first in nine years. It's arriving September 30 via the band's new home at Secretly Canadian.

They've also shared the beautiful, bonkers video for Perfume Genius-featuring lead single "Spitting Off the Edge of the World."

The single — which is equally beautiful and bonkers — is a lush supernova of sound that finds the Yeah Yeah Yeahs somewhere between the earnest rock of Show Your Bones and the crystalline pop of It's Blitz. It was produced by regular YYYs collaborator and TV on the Radio member Dave Sitek, and according to Karen O, it was inspired by the fight against climate catastrophe.

"I see the younger generations staring down this threat, and they're standing on the edge of a precipice, confronting what's coming with anger and defiance," she said in a statement. "It's galvanizing, and there's hope there." 

The video was directed by Cody Critcheloe (otherwise known as Ssion) who also created the single art. Critcheloe is also responsible for the cover art of 2003's Fever to Tell. The "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" video features Perfume Genius as a Mad Max-style undead chauffeur who drives Karen O through a bleak, vaguely apocalyptic landscape. 

In a statement about the eight-track Cool It Down, Karen O said:

To all who have waited, our dear fans, thank you, our fever to tell has returned, and writing these songs came with its fair share of chills, tears, and euphoria when the pain lifts and truth is revealed. Don't have to tell you how much we've been going through in the last nine years since our last record, because you've been going through it too, and we love you and we see you, and we hope you feel the feels from the music we've made. No shying away from the feels, or backing down from what's been gripping all of us these days. So yes we've taken our time, happy to report when it's ready it really does just flow out.

The record is called
Cool It Down, which is snagged from a lesser known Velvet Underground Song. I told Alex Prager whose photo graces our record cover that her image speaks to sweeping themes in the music and sums up how I, Karen, feel existentially in these times! But there's always more to the story. This is how our new story begins. 

Check out the video for "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" and the Cool It Down tracklist below.

Cool It Down:

1. Spitting Off the Edge of the World feat. Perfume Genius
2. Lovebomb
3. Wolf
4. Fleez
5. Burning
6. Blacktop
7. Different Today
8. Mars

Pre-order Cool it Down.